Varun Dhawan, Shraddha Kapoor, Karan Johar and many more win big at the prestigious News18 Showsha Reel Awards 2024

Varun Dhawan, Shraddha Kapoor, Karan Johar and many more win big at the prestigious News18 Showsha Reel Awards 2024

The special evening unfolded in the presence of the Hindi entertainment industry.

Varun Dhawan Showsha

Mumbai: The glamour of Bollywood and the dynamism of the OTT world came under one glittering roof for the News18 Showsha Reel Awards 2024 at Taj Lands End, Mumbai, on 9 March. Hosted by the charismatic duo Aparshakti Khurana and Neha Dhupia, the special evening celebrated the best of content and talents across films and web series in all its glory. Guided by a panel of esteemed jury members such as Prasoon Joshi, Aanand L Rai, Kabir Bedi, Meenakshi Seshadri, Ramesh S Taurani, Neeraj Ghaywan, and Tavishi Paitanday, the News18 Showsha Reel Awards 2024 made for a grand spectacle to remember for all who cherish the art of storytelling.

Kicking off the festivities was Threeory Band of Animal fame, who set the stage ablaze with an electrifying performance – boasting chart-topping hits to timeless classics. The star-studded event was graced by the crème de la crème of the entertainment industry, including Karan Johar, Rani Mukherjee, Varun Dhawan, Shraddha Kapoor, Kartik Aaryan, Aditya Roy Kapur, Ananya Panday, Janhvi Kapoor, Shabana Azmi, Manoj Bajpayee, Sharmila Tagore, Richa Chadha, Bobby Deol, Vedang Raina, Wamiqa Gabbi, Vijay Varma, Bhushan Kumar, Raj & DK, R Balki, and Manan Bhardwaj, among many others. As it hailed some of the best performances, movies, and web series released between January 1, 2023, and December 31, 2023, the excitement for the awards ceremony was tangible among the guests, jury, and fraternity members alike.

The atmosphere was electric as Animal and Sirf Ek Bandaa Kaafi Hai bagged the coveted Best Film awards under the categories of Popular Choice and Jury Choice, respectively. Cheers also erupted when Dhawan (Bawaal) and Manoj Bajpayee (Sirf Ek Bandaa Kaafi Hai) were honoured with the Best Actor - Male award under Popular Choice and Jury Choice, respectively. Adding to the fervour, Shraddha Kapoor (Tu Jhoothi Main Makkaar) and Sharmila Tagore (Gulmohar) were recognized as Best Actor - Female under Popular Choice and Jury Choice, respectively. The evening also celebrated the brilliance behind the camera, with R. Balki (Ghoomer) and Karan Johar (Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani) winning the Best Director award under Jury Choice and Popular Choice, respectively. In a much-deserved accolade, Rani Mukherjee was titled Star of the Year for her heart-wrenching performance in Mrs. Chatterjee vs Norway.

Moreover, the audience's anticipation was palpable as the winner of the Best Web Series was announced, with Jubilee emerging victorious to thunderous applause. The frenzy prevailed as Aditya Roy Kapur was honoured with the award for OTT Best Actor - Male for his stellar performance in The Night Manager, while Sonakshi Sinha was recognized with the award for OTT Best Actor - Female for her outstanding role in Dahaad. The euphoria was also real when Kartik Aaryan won the award for Breakthrough Performance - Male for Satyaprem Ki Katha and Ananya Panday for Breakthrough Performance - Female for Kho Gaye Hum Kahan. The News18 Showsha Reel Awards 2024 even paid tribute to the remarkable contributions of Shankar Mahadevan and R Madhavan with the Music Legend award and Reel Icon award, respectively.

Dedicating the award for Best Actor - Female to her beloved fans, Kapoor remarked, “Throughout my journey to this moment, every milestone I've achieved in my career can be traced back to the support of my fans. As I accept this prestigious award, it's clear that it's not just a recognition of my work, but proof of the incredible devotion of those who've rooted for me along the way. Their belief in me has shaped me into the artist I am today, and for that, I am eternally grateful. I treasure the love and admiration that I've been fortunate enough to receive from my fans. This award, therefore, is not mine alone but belongs to every single fan who voted for me. I must also extend my heartfelt thanks to our director, whose vision allowed me to portray such a fascinating character in Tu Jhoothi Main Makkaar. Playing Nisha in the film was an experience I cherished deeply.”

Sharing his emotions about winning the award for Best Director, Johar shared, “Rocky Aur Rani Kii Prem Kahaani is a special film for me because it released in the 25th year of my directorial existence. It was also a film that I directed after 7 years. So It was imperative that it found love because it would not have been good for my morale if it hadn't. I must thank everyone associated with the film. I have to take a beat and say how blessed I was to direct Shabana Ji in the film. Jaise kehte hai na koi 'Baap Actor' hai set pe – that's the feeling I got every time Shabana Ji gave a shot. I also need to take a moment to thank Apoorva (Mehta), the CEO of Dharma Productions and my best friend, to the entire cast and crew of the film, and to Rocky and Rani themselves, Ranveer (Singh) and Alia (Bhatt), for essaying the parts with all their heart. Lastly, I dedicate this one to my twins, Yash and Roohi.”

Mukherjee stated, “Receiving the award for Mrs. Chatterjee vs Norway, especially from Karan (Johar), is truly special because he was the first one to see it and give us a (positive) reaction. We were all really worried whether a content-driven film like Mrs. Chatterjee vs Norway would work in the theatres. There was a lot of chatter that only big films would do well theatrically, so it was a risk; it was a step we had to take because we believed in this film. I, of course, had conviction because I was in the film, but I would like to thank the producers, who stood by me like a rock and believed in the film. It was a collective decision to release the film theatrically, and I'm so grateful that audiences accepted it with all heart. This award is actually dedicated to the audience because they showed the whole world that content cinema is here to stay – here to stay in theatres. I must also thank the crew of Mrs. Chatterjee vs Norway, the actors from Bengal who lent authenticity to the film, my Estonian crew as we shot the film in Tallinn, our DOP, and the production team. Without them, shooting during the COVID-19 pandemic wouldn't have been possible.”

Network18 CEO (Digital) & President - Corporate Strategy Puneet Singhvi said, “The News18 Showsha Reel Awards 2024 was a true celebration of the incredible talent and creativity that define our entertainment industry. It offered a unique opportunity to showcase the finest achievements in Hindi films and web series. The awards ceremony was not just about recognising excellence but also about inspiring future generations to push the boundaries of content and entertainment. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees for making the event a memorable one. We are proud to honour these achievements and look forward to another year of setting new standards in entertainment.”

N18 Eng Editorial and Content executive editor Ameya Bhise said, “The News18 Showsha Reel Awards 2024 served as a distinctive tribute to the extraordinary talent within the film industry. At the awards show, we celebrated the industry's excellence, uniting numerous artists for one grand event. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees for their remarkable contributions to films and web shows. With each award, we rewarded the remarkable talent and ingenuity that graces our screens, both big and small.”