Amrita Award for Outstanding Contribution to be conferred on E.Sreedharan, Kapil Dev, V V S Laxman and Abhilash Tomy

Amrita Award for Outstanding Contribution to be conferred on E.Sreedharan, Kapil Dev, V V S Laxman and Abhilash Tomy


MUMBAI: The Amrita Awards will be given away at a public function which will be attended by a galaxy of eminent persons from all walks of life.Each Awardee will recieve a Memento, Citation and Token Benediction Cheque for Rs 5 Lakhs. Amrita TV‘s grand event is scheduled on Saturday 20 April 2013 at K. K. Premachandran Sports Complex (Bristow Ground),Cochin Port Trust,Willingdon Island,Cochin - 682009.

The Amrita Awards 2013 will be bestowed at the Amrita Film Awards event which is a critically acclaimed and respected annual event, to honour the best of cinema in various categories for Malayalam films produced in 2012. Leading film personalities and technicians will receive Awards in over 25 categories. Stars from Kerala and other States are attending the Amrita Film Awards, which comprises a wonderful entertainment Program by performers from Mumbai ,Chennai and Kerala.

In the Film awards category, ?Ayalum Njanum Thammil?, a telling portrayal of the medical profession shown in all its starkness has bagged the Best Film Award ;its Director Lal Jose who wielded the megaphone for the same as well as the light entertainer ?Diamond Necklace? has been selected as the Best Director.

Mohanlal who essayed the role of an alcoholic to perfection in Renjith?s satirical ?Spirit is the Best Actor while Kavya Madhavan?s riveting performance as a sweet na?ve housewife in ?Bayuttiyude Namathil? has been the unanimous choice for Best Actress. Biju Menon, took home the Best Supporting Actor accolade for his comic capers in ?Mayamohini? and well measured acting in ?Ordinary? as Lena deservedly walks away as Best Supporting Actress in ?Ee Adutha Kalathu?. Pratap Pothan who returns to Malayalam as a ruthless rapist in ?22 Female Kottayam? is the Best Villain of the Year. ?Spirit?s? music has brought laurels to all those related to it : Rafeeq Ahammed who penned its lyrics is the Best Lyricist, Shahabaz Aman who composed its music becomes the Best Music Director and Vijay Yesudas who sang a couple of the numbers is the Best Male Singer. Remya Nambeesan?s husky crooning for ?Ivan Megharoopan? and ?Bachelor Party? has been voted the Best Female Singer.

For his decades long contribution to the Malayalam Film Industry as director, script writer and lyricist, Sreekumaran Thampi has been bestowed with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Bobby & Sanjay the brother duo whose tight storyline in ?Ayalum Njanum Thammil? has jointly been adjudged as Best Script Writers; Vinod Illampally picks up the Award for Best Cinematography for the exquisite camera work of ?Chattakkari & Grand Master ?and for his first rate fine tuning of ?Ee Aduthakalathu?, Arun Kumar is the Best Editor.

The youth brigade has cornered its share of award too: Fahad Fazil who vaulted to fame with a series of good films is the Youth Icon of the Year; Navin Pauly and Isha Talwar the love lorn couple of Thattathin Marayathu are the Best Youth Pair; Dulquar Salman who shot to fame with just 2 films is the Best New Face of the Year(Male) and Namita Pramod, the child actress who blossomed into heroine is the Best New face (Female) of the year.

Sign up for our Newsletter

subscribe for latest stories