I&B minister Anurag Thakur launches Bharat24

I&B minister Anurag Thakur launches Bharat24

The channel will begin broadcasting on August 15.

Anurag Thakur

Mumbai: The union minister for information & broadcasting and sports & youth affairs Anurag Thakur, launched the new national Hindi news channel, The tagline of the channel is “Vision of new India!”

Speaking at the launch event on Sunday, Thakur wished all the best to the team. "I congratulate Dr Jagdeesh Chandra and the entire team of Bharat24 on this new venture. The media is the fourth pillar of democracy and should work as a bridge between the government and the public and I am sure Bharat24 will execute this responsibility with utmost seriousness," he said.

Bharat24 CEO and editor-in-chief Dr Jagdeesh Chandra commented, "We assure the minister that Bharat24 will reflect the aspirations of the youth, the multi-polarity of emerging India and will work as a bridge between our audience and the government."

Bharat24 managing editor Ajay Kumar, Bharat24 chief business officer & strategic partner to the board Manoj Jagyasi, Bharat24 senior editor Syed Umar, Bharat24 senior anchors Mimansa Malik, Sachin Arora, Naina Yadav and Poornima Mishra, editorial consultant Shashikant Sharma, political editor Aditi Nagar, and others were present during the launch.

Kumar said, "The union government of India, various state governments, multilateral agencies, and international partners of India, all together, have come a long way in building the New India. We, Bharat 24, believe that a positive connection between the governments, state policies & the people at large is the need of the hour."

Adding to this, Jagyasi commented, "With bureaus in all states, Bharat 24, will set a benchmark for news reporting and branding. It is a matter of pride that on the first day of launch, the channel has opened with many credible advertisers and we shall only grow bigger and better as time goes on," he added.

Bharat24 will be available on all major DTH & cable platforms, including Tata Play – 531, Dish TV – 667, D2H – 750, Airtel DTH – 373, DEN – 318, Radiant – 308, RM Network – 109, Siti Network – 312, Hathway – 217, ICNCL WB – 175, Digiana Cable – 308, Haldwani Digital Services - 110.