Aaj Tak, Sony hit the high notes at Rapa awards

MUMBAI: Sony, Zee and Sab make their mark at the 29th Radio and Television Advertising Practitioners' Association of India (RAPA) awards. The awards felicitated professionals for their outstanding creative contribution at the Taj Lands End in Mumbai on 22 May.



Radio being the pulse of the awards, the anchors for the evening were radio jockeys like Mallishka, Bakul Thakar, Alric Ferns and Keisha Lobo, who although manage to rake up a fair play at their respective radio stations, failed to deliver the same at the event. The awards ceremony although began half hour late, Askaran Atal, the renowned poet managed to throw in some introductory punch with all his satirical and comical performances, taking a dig at almost all topical issues.

The acts included Baba Sehgal jiving to his new song 'Pump up your style', to Jojo, the singer performing to the tune of 'Dil mera bole, hello how are you' and 'Vo kaun thi.'

With the much acclaimed award Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahin bagging the award in the best soap opera (Hindi) category,interestingly, the best promo for the TV serial was won by Devi, both bagged by the Sony Entertainment television.

Sri Adhikari Brothers Ltd won prizes galore at the function. Faces and Names and Galti Kiski, both Sab TV shows received awards, while Zee Telefilms' Jeena Isi Ka Naam , hosted by Farooque Shaikh too was adulated with an award. The Best Public Service Advertising Award was awarded to the public service films produced by Code Red Films for Aaj Tak. This campaign has bagged various other awards including an Abby and a Promax.

The best Anchor Award was conferred on Aaj Tak’s Ritul Joshi, who anchors the prime time news bulletin on the channel.

Aaj Tak’s weekly programme Cinema Aaj Tak bagged the best film-based programme Award. Kyun Sune Aapki, bagged the best ‘telecast of live programme’ award.

Commenting on the awards, Aaj Tak's Rajesh Sheshadri says, “Aaj Tak’s journalism and communication has always been rewarded by our viewers. Winning the Rapa’s for the third consecutive year exemplifies the recognition we have received from the industry.

Speaking on the Public Service Advertising Award, Code Red Films Gajaraj Rao elucidates, "Today, there’s high level of apathy in the society, and to drive a social message, you can’t afford to be subtle and sweet.”

On the predominantly radio front, Win 94.6 made a clean sweep with best radio jockey in Hindi (Mallishka Mendonca) and for Marathi (Anjali Kulkarni). While the various awards spanned all aspects of its programming; the first award Win 94.6 won was for English radio programme script, despite being an essentially Hindi based station. The Hindi radio programme script was also won by Win 94.6 for Khwaish, its Sunday evening show by Anurag Pandey. These among many more were bagged by the radio station which has shut shop for the time being.

Commenting on Win 94.6’s performance, President, Rapa Brij Mittle gushes,“Our 90 odd jurors only gave awards for excellence. The work done by Win 94.6 during 2003, both by its producers and performers, has been just that – excellent. Congratulations to the entire team. We at RAPA are also praying hard that it will turn out just like last year, when Win 94.6 came back on air a few days after winning at the Rapa awards!”

The best radio spot went to Dhananjay Kale for SBI mutual fund in the non-film Hindi category and Enil, Radio Mirchi Chennai bagged the award for the best radio spot in Malyalam.

Voice major Chetan bagged awards for the Close-Up jingle and the best TV jingle.

The panel of judges included Manjul Sinha, Uday Shankar Pani, Chaula Saha, Vijay Kadam, Vijay Arora, Kanti Madiya, Sanyukta Nandy, Subrato Mahapatra, Chand Kirshandhar, Vasant Suparkar, Shyam Benegal, Prasoon Joshi, Pradeep Upal, Mukesh Sharma, Dolly Thakore, Satish Kulkarni, Luku Sanyal, Aruna Raje, Nandita Puri, Narendra Kusnoor, Anand Mahendroo, Ramesh Sabarwal and Jhanu Verma.

Sign up for our Newsletter

subscribe for latest stories