Report on Hindi News Viewership

Greg Dyke to receive International Emmy Directorate award

CANNES: The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (International TV Academy) announced today that Greg Dyke, Director General of the BBC will receive the prestigious International Emmy Directorate Award at the 31st International Emmy Awards on November 24, 2003. 

The International Emmy Directorate Award is presented to organizations or individuals in management, administration, engineering, news, programming, and/or international relations for outstanding contributions over a period of time to the arts and sciences of international television.

"Greg Dyke is an exceptional lead er in the global television industry with a vision to the future. His accomplishments personify the International Emmy Award, which recognizes excellence in global television. The International TV Academy is very pleased to honor his many contributions to the art and science of international television," said Fred Cohen, President of the International TV Academy.

Greg Dyke became Director-General of the BBC in January 2000, having joined the previous year as Deputy Director-General and Director-General designate. He was educated at York University where he read Politics. After an early career as a journalist, he started his broadcasting career in 1977 at London Weekend Television. He became Editor-in-Chief of TV-AM in 1983 and the following year Director of Programmes for TVS. 

He returned to LWT in 1987 as Director of Programmes; in 1990 he became Managing Director; and from 1991 to 1994 he was Group Chief Executive of LWT (Holdings) plc. After the Granada take-over of LWT, Greg Dyke joined Pearson Television as Chief Executive. During his time in the post, from 1995 to 1999, he built it into the largest independent production company in the world. 

He also guided the consortium that created Channel 5 and became its first Chairman. While at Pearson, Greg Dyke undertook a review of the Patients' Charter of the National Health Service at the request of the Secretary of State for Health. Since joining the BBC, Greg Dyke has reorganised its structure with the twin aims of putting him closer to programme-makers and of spending more of the BBC's income on programmes and services for audiences and less on running the organisation. 

He has also made major commitments to use digital technology to provide new education opportunities and to improve the cultural diversity of the workforce and BBC programmes. He has also been Chairman of the Independent Television association (1992-94); Chairman of GMTV (1993-94); and at various times a director of Pearson plc, Channel Four Television, ITN and BSkyB.

Previous winners of this distinguished award include, among others, Akio Morita, Gustavo Cisneros, Silvio Berlusconi, Lord Sydney Bernstein, Dr. Frank Stanton, Dr. Roberto Marinho, and Ted Turner. 

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (the International TV Academy), a division of the National Television Academy, is the largest organization of global broadcasters, with representatives from over 50 countries on its Board. 

It was chartered in 1969 with a mission to honor and encourage excellence in television programming outside the United States by presenting the International Emmy Award. The International TV Academy is a unique, independent organization including the world's top television and media leaders who come together to exchange ideas, discuss common issues, and promote new strategies for the future development of quality global television programming.