ESS to air 12-part series as precursor to ICC world cup

ESS to air 12-part series as precursor to ICC world cup

NEW DELHI: A visual history will unfold before sports fans prior to the ICC Cricket World Cup, with ESPN Star Sports (ESS)- the ICC?s global production and broadcast partner - telecasting a new 12 part series.

The series looks back at the event?s rich history through stories told by the players who experienced the highs and the lows. This audio-visual history captures the precious moments that will stand the test of time.

They feature extensive interviews with all seven ICC CWC-winning captains ? Clive Lloyd, Kapil Dev, Allan Border, Imran Khan, Arjuna Ranatunga, Stephen Waugh and Ricky Ponting.

They also include the views of some other pivotal figures from each tournament, including Sachin Tendulkar, Shane Warne, Ian Botham, Mike Gatting, Wasim Akram, Sanath Jayasuriya, Martin Crowe and Brett Lee.

Broadcast by ESS and other official ICC broadcasters, they will serve as the lead-in for cricket fans ahead of next year?s ICC CWC in India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka that begins on 19 February.

The programmes chart the evolution of the ICC CWC from humble beginnings in 1975 through to its current status as ‘The Cup That Counts‘.

Each of the nine previous tournaments are recalled and analysed, and the seven victorious captains also have a programme devoted to their own personal recollections of achieving the ultimate honour in the game ? lifting the ICC Cricket World Cup.

ESS MD Manu Sawhney said: "The ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 will draw massive interest from around the globe as cricket?s flagship event, and this compelling cricket programming is a must watch for all cricket fans in the lead up to next year?s showpiece event.

"As the global production and broadcast rights holder for ICC events, this documentary was produced to highlight the proud history and traditions of the Cricket World Cup in perspective to the upcoming blockbuster event next February, and we hope that cricket fans will enjoy every minute of it."

ICC CEO Haroon Lorgat said: "The ICC Cricket World Cup is cricket?s flagship tournament ? it‘s The Cup That Counts - so we are delighted that, for the first time, a definitive series of programmes charting its history has been produced.

The programmes feature the key players from the first nine editions dating back to the inaugural event in 1975 and will serve as the essential historical record of the ICC Cricket World Cup. The timing of its release is also a perfect lead in to the 2011 tournament.

In total, there are 12 programmes ? two devoted to an overall history of the ICC CWC, a further nine on each edition of the tournament (1975, 1979, 1983, 1987, 1992, 1996, 1999, 2003 and 2007) and one in which the captains provide their memories of what it took to lift cricket?s greatest prize.

Sign up for our Newsletter

subscribe for latest stories

* indicates required