‘Himmatwala’ receives worst film title at Golden Kela Awards

share this on
By indiantelevision.com Team Posted on : 31 Mar 2014 12:41 pm

NEW DELHI: Box Office returns notwithstanding, Hrithik Roshan’s Krishh 3 and Ajay Devgn’s Himmatwala topped the list of the worst Bollywood films of 2013 in the sixth annual Golden Kela Awards presented over the weekend.

Ajay Devgn(for Himmatwala) and Sonakshi Sinha (for R...Rajkumar) received the Golden Kelas for the second consecutive year in the worst actor category. Ajay had won the award in 2012 for ‘Son of Sardaar’ and ‘Bol Bachchan’ and Sonakshi for the five films she had acted in during that year. Her co-star in R…..Rajkumar won the ‘Why are You Still Trying’ award for the same film.

Himmatwala, remake of the Jeetendra starrer of 1983 which itself was remake of a Telugu film of 1981 also got the ‘RGV Ki Aag’ Award for the ‘Most Pointless re-make/sequel’, and the ‘Worst Film’ award. 

Krishh 3 shared the ‘Ra One’ award for the ‘Worst Premise’ along with Dhoom 3, while it also received an award for the ‘Most Atrocious Lyrics’ for Sameer’s ‘Raghupati Raghav’.

Interestingly, Aamir Khan won the ‘Baawra Ho Gaya Hai Ke’ award for Dhoom 3. He got it for the ‘high level of stupidity in stunts and action, playing a ridiculously unnecessary double role and finally for succumbing to the dark side of Bollywood.’

Golden Kela Awards creative head Anant Singh, who also presented the programme, said “Aamir Khan once said that he loves the Kela Awards, because all other awards are rigged. Wonder what he has to say about us now."

The awards are inspired by the Golden Raspberry awards given in Hollywood – commonly known as the Razzies.

The Kela for the ‘Worst Director’ went to Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Goliyon Ki Raas Leela...Ram Leela.

Actor Vivek Oberoi won the ‘This is too Much Award’ for the four films in which he appeared in 2013 – Krishh 3, Jayantabhai ki Luv Story. Grand Mastie, and Zila Ghaziabad.

‘Aap Yahaan Aaye Kisliye Award’ was given to Uday Chopra and was preceded by a tribute to ‘the late career’ of the actor, ending with the words ‘In memoriam 2000-2013.’

The honour for the ‘Worst Actor (male) in supporting role’ went to Aditya Roy Kapoor for Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani – a wake-up call that acting needs a lot more than getting high! ‘The Worst Supporting Actor (Female)’ went jointly to Deepika Padukone, Jacqueline Fernandes and Amisha Patel for Race 2. Deepika also won the ‘Dara Singh Award for the Worst Accent’ for Chennai Express.

The most ‘Irritating Song’ award went to ‘Party All Night’ from Boss while the ‘Rajshri Award for Most Regressive Film of the Year’ was bagged by Ranjhanaa.

Tennis star Leander Paes got the ‘Worst Debut’ for Rajdhani Express.

The ‘Aakhir Kyun Award’ went to Priyanka Chopra for the music video Exotic and the ‘Bas Kijiye Bahut Ho Gaya Award’ was given to Sunny Deol.

Anant said, “Himmatwala was named for obvious reasons including over-the-top acting, irritating melodrama, lame jokes, mindless entertainment, and just about everything else!” 

Shahid Kapoor was given the award to make him understand that doing lame comedies and using senseless dialogues like "Silent ho ja, nahi to main violent ho jaaonga", will not make him a superstar.

However amid this morass, some films received the Anti-Kela awards for being the saving graces of 2013. These include Saheb Biwi aur Gangster Returns – for being the only real sequel made last year; Go Goa Gone – for being India's first ever Zombie Comedy and Stoner Film in one cool package; The Lunchbox – for showing the world that Indian films are not all song and dance, and Shahid – for being the best biopic made by Bollywood in a long time.

Golden Kela founder Jatin Varma and filmmaker Abhishek Sharma also gave away some of the awards, and stand-up comedian Zakir Khan teamed up with Anant to provide the humorous touch to the awards.

Go Top