“Godrej No.1 Presents - The 13th Doordarshan Sahyadri Navratna Awards 2014”

share this on
By indiantelevision.com Team Posted on : 05 May 2014 02:40 pm

MUMBAI: Doordarshan Kendra, Mumbai has been felicitating nine prominent Maharashtrians every year by honoring them “Sahyadri Navratna Awards”.  It is awarded to recognize their distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity including the Arts, Education, Industry, Literature, Science, Sports, Medicine, Social Service and Public Affairs. The awards will be conferred by the Governor of Maharashtra in a function held at Doordarshan Mumbai on 4th May 2014.

The Honorable Governor of Maharashtra K. Sankaranarayanan will grace the occasion as the Chief Guests for this evening. Shri Mukesh Sharma - Addl. DG, Doordarshan & Dr. Ratan Kumar Sinha – Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary - Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India are among other dignitaries to preside over the event and will be sharing dais with His Excellency.

Among the other distinguished guest present for honoring the Navratnas will be Smt. V.R. Iyer, Shri Bhalchandra Mungekar, Shri Razaa Murad, Madam Grace Pintoo, Dr. Vishwanath Karad, Lata Mangeshkar, Saroj Khan, Javed Siddiqui, Gajendra Singh, Kiran Shantaram, Parikshit Sahani, Samruddhi Pore, Kanwarjit Paintal, Illa Arun and many more.

The Jury of these awards is totally independent which has representation from all the fields such as Film, Drama, Sports, Journalism, and Social Work etc. This year the Jury comprised of Justice(Retd) Marlapalle of High Court Mumbai, Veteran Actor Vikram Gokhale, National Award winner, Sharda Sathe, renowned social activist in Maharashtra, Ashok Panvalkar (Editor, Maharashtra Times) and Priyanka Sinha Jha (Editor Screen – Indian Express Group).

The following eminent personalities will be awarded at this event with the “Navratna Awards”.

Jeevan Ratna – Shri Bhalchandra Pendharkar (Lifetime Achievement Award)

Swarratnas - Pt.Hridaynath Mangeshkar (Field – MUSIC)

Kalaratna – Shri Vasudeo Kamat (Field – FINE ART)

Chitranatha – Smt.Asha Kale – Naik (Field – CINEMA)

Shri Achyut Gokhale (Field – SOCIAL WORK)

Shikshan Ratna – Dr.Madhav Chavan (Field – EDUCATION)

Vaibhav Ratna – Shri Vithal Kamat (Field – INDUSTRY)

Ratna Sharda - Dr.Rohini Gavankar (Field – WOMAN OF SUBSTANCE)

Sahityaratna – Shri N.D.Mahanor (Field – LITERATURE)

Ratnadarpan – Shri Madhukar Bhave (Field – JOURNALISM)

This event is strongly supported and sponsored by “Godrej No. 1, one of the leading soap brands in India and a special award “Godrej Face of the Year” will be given to an upcoming talent for appreciating the work done by a woman achiever in their respective field and this year Ms. Spruha Joshi, renown Marathi Television, Theatre & Film Actress will be honored in this particular category.

 “Sahyadri  Navratna Sanmaan Sohala” will telecast on DD Sahayadri Channel on Sunday, 25th May2014 from 3:30 p.m. onwards.

Go Top