International interactive Emmy awards announced at MipTV

International interactive Emmy awards announced at MipTV

CANNES: The International Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (IATAS) has announced the winners for the International Interactive Emmy awards.

"This year?s winners are an illustration of how technology is enhancing viewer participation and bringing an added value to television content," said IATAS president and CEO Bruce L Paisner.

Scandinavia led the evening with Finland?s children?s programme Staraoke winning the ?Interactive Programme? category and Sweden?s participation drama The Truth About Marika winning the ?Interactive TV Service? category. The ?Interactive Channel? award went to the UK?s WeDigTV.

International Emmy ?Directorate Award? went to Liu Changle of Phoenix Satellite.

Launched in Hong Kong in 1996, Phoenix Satellite Television has rapidly expanded from a single general entertainment channel to an integrated multimedia group with five television channels broadcasting in Mandarin Chinese and covering over 150 countries around the world.

Dick Wolf, the architect of the Law & Order brand, bagged International Emmy Founders Award. Wolf?s classic television series has transcended cultural boundaries for the last 25 years. Law & Order is the longest-running drama series currently on American television and a major international success with brand licences in more than 300 territories and localised versions in France, Russia and the UK.

IATAS is the largest organisation of broadcasters in the world, with members from nearly 70 countries and over 400 companies.

The awards will be given at the 36th International Emmy Awards gala on 24 November in New York.

Sign up for our Newsletter

subscribe for latest stories