Cannes 2007: 33 directors to tribute 60 years of film fest

MUMBAI: 33 of the world's renowned directors from 25 countries will be making short films about what it is like to go to the movies in the 60th year of the Cannes Film Festival. The organizers have commissioned these directors to produces the shorts.

Festival director Gilles Jacob pointed out that directors have been allotted three minutes each and given a theme: Moviegoing. The shorts, will then be bundled into one film, and screened on 20 May at the premier global film festival held in the French Riviera. .

Jacob revealed that among those who have been invited and commissioned for the shots include: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu (Babel, 21 Grammes), the Coen Brothers (Fargo), Roman Polanski (The Pianist), David Cronenberg (A History of Violence), Lars von Trier (Breaking the Waves) and Wong Kar-wai (In the Mood for Love).

The Cannes film fest website says that: "In this particular case, it was a matter of reuniting a group of creators - all universally famous - who represent both their countries and a proud conception of cinema, for a stroll around a unique theme, springboard for their inspiration."

The website says that none of the other filmmaker is aware of what the other is doing or the plot of their shorts. It adds that Wenders has so far filmed in the Congo, Tsai Ming Liang in Kuala Lumpur and Cronenberg in the... toilets!

The website reveals they have all accepted "to discover them at the same time as the festival-goers themselves, on May 20th, as well as the general public, as it will be replayed the very same evening on television on Canal Plus.

The list of directors who have been invited is as follow:

Theo Angelopoulos, Olivier Assayas, Bille August, Jane Campion, Youssef Chahine, Chen Kaige, Michael Cimino, Ethan & Joel Coen, David Cronenberg, Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, Manoel De Oliveira, Raymond Depardon, Atom Egoyan, Amos Gitai, Hou Hsiao Hsien, Alejandro Gonzalez Iñarritu, Aki Kaurismaki, Abbas Kiarostami, Takeshi Kitano, Andrei Konchalovsky, Claude Lelouch, Ken Loach, Nanni Moretti, Roman Polanski, Raoul Ruiz, Walter Salles, Elia Suleiman, Tsai Ming Liang, Gus Van Sant, Lars Von Trier, Wim Wenders, Wong Kar Wai and Zhang Yimou.

Earlier in January, the Festival had announced that Stephen Frears director of the UK blockbuster The Queen would preside over the Cannes Film jury. Frears has also been behind movies such as My Beautiful Laundrette, Prick up Your Ears, Dangerous Liaisons, Accidental Hero, The Grifters, The Snapper, High Fidelity, and Dirty Pretty Things.

Additionally, the festival office had announced that super model and actress (Helen of Troy) Diane Kruger would be be the Master of Ceremonies for the 60th Festival de Cannes. On 16 May she would be welcoming jury president Stephen Frears onto the stage of the Palais des Festivals. She will also host the closing ceremony, on Sunday 27 May, during which the Awards will be announced.

She succeeds in this role to Monica Bellucci, Laura Morante, Cécile de France and Vincent Cassel.

Latest Reads
Star World to air 1-5 of 'Homeland'

Star World and Star World HD is all geared up to air the pulse-pounding action series 'Homeland.' The show tackles geopolitical moral conundrums of our current world. It has recently unveiled the teaser for the upcoming season 6 shows how Carrie Mathison will circumvent around another international...

Television TV Channels English Entertainment
Share all World Cup, T-20 feeds with Prasar Bharati, rights holder told

The telecast of all official one-day and Twenty-20 matches played by the Indian Men’s Cricket Team will henceforth have to be shared by the rights holder with the public broadcaster Prasar Bharati under the Sports Broadcasting Signals (Mandatory Sharing with Prasar Bharati) Act 2007.

Television TV Channels Terrestrial
Saregama returns to film music acquisition with Pen pact

Saregama India has inked a two-movie deal with Pen Movies. With this agreement, Saregama has acquired the music rights of upcoming Bollywood releases of Pen which includes Kahaani 2 -- Durga Rani Singh, featuring Vidya Balan and Arjun Rampal.Kahaani 2 is slated for a release on 2 December.

Television TV Channels Music and Youth
Q2-17: Zeel numbers, PAT up on higher Ad and Subscription revenue

The Subhash Chandra led content and broadcast player Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited (Zeel) reported a 23 per cent hike in consolidated revenue for the quarter ended 30 September 2016 (Q2-17, current quarter) as compared to the corresponding quarter of the previous year.

Television TV Channels GECs
Best Deal TV appoints Hari Trivedi as COO

MUMBAI: Best Deal TV has appointed Hari Trivedi as the chief operating officer with immediate effect. Based in Mumbai, Trivedi will be responsible for overall sales and marketing. He would also be initializing lowest price offers and deals on Best Deal TV.

Television TV Channels People
Disney announces successor of MD Siddharth Roy-Kapur

MUMBAI: Walt Disney International has announced the successor to its former managing director Siddharth Roy-Kapur. As a second stint with the organization, Mahesh Samat has made a comeback and will lead The Walt Disney Company India as the managing director. He will pursue his new responsibility...

Television TV Channels People
Life is more imaginative than fiction in a story like POW, says writer-director Gideon Raff

MUMBAI: Sometimes, coming back home after 17 years is not always a happy ending. "Prisoners of War" is the story of three Israeli soldiers, who were held captive for that many years following their kidnapping while on a secret mission with their unit.

Television TV Shows Thriller
IPL media rights bidding postponed sine die

MUMBAI: The BCCI has made it clear that the media rights auction cannot take place till the time it gets a concrete go-ahead and a formal approval from the Justice RM Lodha committee. Till the evening of 24 October (Monday), BCCI did not receive the okay from the committee which said, "it is in...

Television TV Channels Sports
Q3-16: DIRECTV mitigates AT&T U-Verse TV subscriber numbers fall

BENGALURU: AT&T acquired DIRECTV added 323,000 net subscribers and hence helped mitigate the company’s Entertainment and Internet Services Group (Entertainment) segment’s loss of 326,000 U-Verse subscribers for the quarter ended 30 September 2016 (Q3-16, current quarter). About 70 percent of...

Television TV Channels English Entertainment

Latest News

Load More

Sign up for our Newsletter

subscribe for latest stories