ABC 20/20, Sweden's TV4 receive intl Watchdog awards

MUMBAI: An ABC News 20/20 report in the US, documenting systematic sexual exploitation of girls and boys by UN peacekeepers and civilians in the Democratic Republic of Congo, has been awarded the Outstanding Investigative Reporting prize for 2005 by the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, the international arm of the American organisation Center for Public Integrity.

The ICIJ Award judges said the ABC 20/20 report represented "investigative journalism at its finest" and was "a riveting expose, a story superbly told."For the first time, the atrocities and rights violations on the part of the UN and its representatives are exposed and documented. ABC did its homework, took its cameras to the crime scenes in the Congo, convinced victims to tell their awful stories on the record and then nailed UN officials, also on camera, for their inadequate responses to UN 'peacekeepers' having sex with young girls and boys," the judges wrote in their letter of commendation.

In ABC 20/20's Peace at What Price: Investigating UN Misconduct in the Congo, Brian Ross, David Wilson Scott and Rhonda Schwartz travelled to the Congo where they interviewed victims and revealed, among other things, the case of a senior UN official who ran an Internet paedophile ring.

In addition, Sweden's TV4 won a special citation award of $2,000 for its hour-long documentary The Broken Promise which exposed US government involvement in the "extraordinary rendition," of two Egyptian citizens from Sweden to Egypt. Fredrik Laurin, Joachim Dyfvermark, and Sven Bergman revealed how the men were interrogated and tortured for more than 60 days as part of the US global war on terrorism.

The ICIJ Awards were created in 1997 to honour transnational investigative reporting. The $20,000 first-place prize and $1,000 finalist awards are made possible by a grant from The John and Florence Newman Foundation to recognise, reward and foster international investigative reporting. Award winners and finalists include journalists from Bulgaria, Norway, Sweden, the UK and the US. 

Four entries received the $1,000 finalist award:

-- Miroluba Emilova Benatova of Bulgaria's bTV for her television

investigation Kidney Traffic.

-- Alfredo Corchado, Tracey Eaton, Laurence Iliff, and David McLemore of the Dallas Morning News, for their series documenting drug related violence along the US-Mexico border.

-- Ola Flyum, David Hebditch of NRK/SVT/and DR Television in Norway for

their documentary The Manuscript Collector/Stealing History. 

-- Daniel Foggo and Charlotte Edwardes of The Sunday Telegraph in the U.K.

for their series of stories on illegal abortions.

Latest Reads
Disney-Fox deal expected to happen on Thursday: CNBC

The Walt Disney Co. is expected to close a deal valued at $60 billion to acquire much of 21st Century Fox's assets, according to a CNBC news report. The two companies are likely to announce the deal on Thursday.

Television TV Channels News Broadcasting
World television premiere of Maragadha Naanayam on Zee Tamil

Zee Tamil announced the world television premiere of critically acclaimed Maragadha Naanayam – the fantasy-comedy-thriller film that features Aadhi Pinisetty and Nikki Galrani on Sunday, 17 December at 4:00 PM only on Zee Tamil. Written and directed by ARK Saravan, the movie is a perfect blend of...

Television TV Channels Regional
Republic TV to track real-time data for Gujarat elections

MUMBAI: Republic TV has partnered data-science company Gramener to track real-time data, along with analysis, during the Gujarat elections. According to a release sent by Republic TV, “Gramener will help enhance the visual look both on-air and on Republic’s digital platforms to present the data in...

Television TV Channels News Broadcasting
Nakul Chopra is new BARC chairman

MUMBAI: Nakul Chopra, currently president of Advertising Agencies Association of India (AAAI) and senior advisor of Publicis Communications, has been elected as the next chairman of BARC India. Chopra succeeds Viacom18 group CEO Sudhanshu Vats, who has completed his one-year tenure as chairman.

Television TV Channels Viewership
Nitin Kukreja joins iQuest

Former Star India sports head Nitin Kukreja has joined iQuest Enterprises as its chief executive officer. Kukreja had left Star in March this year. IQuest is an enterprise of Nimmagadda Prasad, the former owner of the Maa TV group, who has multiple business interests ranging from infrastructure to...

Television TV Channels Sports
Sun TV's unassailable lead continues, while Zee TV leads Hindi across genre

BENGALURU: The Sun network's flagship Tamil general entertainment channel (GEC) Sun TV continued its lead in ratings across all GECs on Indian television for week 48 of 2017 (25 November to 1 December 2017) according to Broadcast Audience Research Council (BARC) weekly ratings data

Television TV Channels GECs
Republic TV, BTVI join hands for budget coverage

MUMBAI: Republic TV, spearheaded by Arnab Goswami, and Business Television India (BTVI) have entered into an alliance for content and programming around Union Budget 2018. The Republic TV- BTVI alliance promises to offer viewers a distinctive experience.

Television TV Channels News Broadcasting
Mairu Gupta and the art of building the NBA in India

MUMBAI: For basketball fans worldwide, the US National Basketball Association (NBA) represents the mecca of the sport. But in India, the NBA has had its task cut out, what with cricket presenting a near impenetrable line of defence.

Television TV Channels Sports
CNN-News18 'Indian of the year' 2017 special Telecast on 9 and 10 December

MUMBAI: The awards night of the annual and flagship initiative of CNN-News18, ‘Indian of the Year – 2017’ will be telecasted on the 9 and 10 of December at 9:30 PM on the channel. The initiative, whichrecognizes and awards the exceptional contribution and achievements of the iconic Indian citizens...

Television TV Channels News Broadcasting

Latest News

Load More

Sign up for our Newsletter

subscribe for latest stories