All set for television's biggest night - the Sangini Indian Telly Awards 2004

MUMBAI: All roads for the television industry will lead to Chitrakut Grounds on New Link Road in Andheri (West) this evening. Reason: the industry's biggest awards, The Sangini Indian Telly Awards, founded by Anil Wanvari, will be given away at a grand gala tonight.

The awards are to be given away to personalities and programmes that outshone the rest in the period January 2003 to June 2004. As far as personality awards go, both male and females will be recognized and rewarded in the Best Actor, Fresh New Face of the Year, Best Supporting Actor, Best Actor in a Negative Role, Best actor in a comic role, Best Television Personality, and child artiste categories. TV CEO of the year, Best anchor, best news anchor, creative director (production house and channel) are the other categories which will be appreciated on that evening.

In the programming category, awards such as best daily serial, best weekly serial, best continuing programme, best TV programme, and Best Ensemble in a TV programme are being given away. The Highlight of the evening will be the Big Idea Award and the Lifetime contribution to Television Award which will be presented to Dr Ramanand Sagar, the creative genius behind shows such as Ramayan, Vikram Aur Betaal, Sri Krishna and Haatim.

The awards gala has a theme The Nxt Generation and will be replete with performances from about 48 TV artistes including Rajeev Khandelwal, Amna Shariff, Akashdeep Sehgal, Shabbir Ahluwalia, Shama Sikander, Gurdeep Kohli, Sai Deodhar, Amit Sareen, Ejaz Khan, Ali Hassan, Tina Parakh, Ace stand up comic Veerdas. A bhangra band Legacy fronted by Brit Pakistani sex symbol Tariq Khan is being flown down for the awards function to get the audiences rocking off their feet..

"This is one of the grandest galas that has ever been planned for the television industry," says Wanvari. "The Indian Telly Awards are about celebrating excellence and we want to celebrate the performance of our TV stars in Style. It is our way of saying thank you to them."


The Indian Telly Awards launched 2001 were envisioned by Founder Anil Wanvari as a way to reward, laud and felicitate professionals behind the scenes of the Indian Television business and recognize excellence in television.

The number of categories have consistently grown year on year, and this year over 94 Awards will be given away across Trade, Technical, Programming, Personality and Channel categories.

The Indian Telly Awards have established themselves as the biggest and most respected Awards for the Indian Television industry. The Awards are decided by an eminent jury panel which has in the past included names such as Ashutosh Gowariker, Aanjan Srivastav, Bharati Achrekar, Anju Mahendroo, Kunal Kohli, Kunika Lall, Lekh Tandon, Sam Balsara, Rakesh Sharma, and Rekha Nigam among others.

Latest Reads
Comment: DNPA formation raises key questions & upsets independent publishers

“When it comes to rain making, not all followers are equally valuable. Some people have a lot more influence than others,” said Areva Martin, author and autism expert, in `Make It Rain!: How to Use the Media to Revolutionize Your Business & Brand’.

Television TV Channels News Broadcasting
Untapped TV audience of 100 mn for international channels

The International Television Research Group (inTV) and GlobalWebIndex compared internet users aged 16-64 who watch any of the international TV channels such as BBC News, Bloomberg Television, CNBC, CNN, Euronews, Eurosport, France 24, National Geographic Channel, Sky News and TV5Monde channels at...

Television TV Channels Viewership
Zeel channels continue to rule Hindi channels; Colors, Star Maa return to across genres list

BENGALURU: Zee Entertainment Enterprises Ltd (Zeel) free to air (FTA) Hindi GECs Zee Anmol and flagship Zee TV were once again ranked second and third in Broadcast Audience Research Council of India (BARC) weekly list of top 10 channels across genres for week 37 of 2018 (Saturday, 8 September 2018...

Television TV Channels Viewership
Kannada, Marathi, Tamil, Telugu market witness no change in BARC week 37

Colors Bangla and Jalsha Movies swapped their third and fourth positions in the Bengali space in the BARC data’s week 37. Big Ganga and Bhojpuri Cinema exchanged their first and second positions in the Bhojpuri segment. In the Kannada, Marathi, Tamil and Telugu market, no changes were observed....

Television TV Channels Viewership
Republic TV leads English news in BARC week 37

NDTV 24x7 stood at fifth position in the English news genre according to All India BARC data week 37. No changes were observed this week in the English business news genre. Aaj Tak continued to lead in Hindi news genre (U+R). Moreover, Aaj Tak and ABP News also continued to dominate in Hindi news...

Television TV Channels Viewership
ALTBalaji appoints Divya Dixit as Senior Vice President, Head of Marketing

Balaji Telefilms has recently been integrating great leadership talent from across the board to spearhead the business and become a powerhouse. Further fortifying its leadership at ALTBalaji - India’s largest platform for original and exclusive digital content, the company announced the appointment...

Television TV Channels GECs
DSport to broadcast Laver Cup from 21-23 September

DSport will bring live action from the second edition of Laver Cup, a men's tennis tournament between teams from Europe and the rest of the world to be held in Chicago from 21-23 September 2018.

Television TV Channels Sports
India’s top media companies announce formation of Digital News Publishers Association

Amidst a plethora of industry bodies and sectoral alliances in the Rs. 1.5 trillion Indian media and entertainment sector, another such organization today took birth. It has been christened the Digital News Publishers Association (DNPA). 

Television TV Channels News Broadcasting
Raj Nayak, Janak Sarda to be felicitated by International Advertising Association

At the annual International Advertising Association (IAA) Inspire awards to be held at Bucharest on 2 October 2018 with advertising and marketing leaders from all over the world in attendance, Viacom18 COO Raj Nayak and past president IAA India Chapter will be felicitated with the prestigious "...

Television TV Channels People

Latest News

Load More

Sign up for our Newsletter

subscribe for latest stories