ESS set to take Indian hockey into new league

NEW DELHI: India's "step-sister" sport of hockey has just been given a huge dose of much-needed marketing support in an intiative spearheaded by ESPN Star Sports in tandem with the Indian Hockey Federation and Leisure Sports Management.

The unveiling yesterday of logos and jerseys for the Tier I teams competing in the just launched Premier Hockey League (PHL) marks a new beginning for India's long-neglected national sport. The PHL will kick off in Hyderabad on 13 January, 2005.

PHL is the result of over three years of extensive work put in by ESS, the IHF and LSM. The league has been launched to increase the popularity of hockey in India.

JWT, the advertising agency of ESPN Star Sports India, designed the team logos while fashion designer Aparna Chandra was roped in to give the players and the teams a contemporary look.

The PHL launch was marked yesterday in the capital with a fashion show choreographed by Tania Lefebvre and Aparna Bahl. Captains of the five Tier I teams Gagan Ajit Singh (Sher-e-Jallandhar), Viren Rasquinha (Maratha Warriors), Ignace Tirkey (Chennai Veerans), Dilip Tirkey (Hyderabad Sultans) and Arjun Halappa (Bangalore High-Fliers) shared the ramp with leading models on the occasion.

Speaking at the occasion, IHF president KPS Gill said, "This is the first time in the history of Indian sports that an event, of such a large scale, has been created to launch a domestic championship. I am delighted by the enthusiasm and commitment shown by the ESS management in giving PHL such a grand launch after two years of hard work by LSM. This great game indeed merits this attention and more."

"We are indeed privileged to have ESPN Star Sports and Leisure Sports Management to partner us in this herculean task to create this new beginning through this league," said IHF general secretary K Jothikumaran.

According to ESS MD RC Venkateish, increased popularity will, in-turn, attract foreign players and at the same time encourage more and more youngsters to play the game. PHL will also provide the much-needed exposure to the game and the players.

"LSM will continue to work closely with IHF & ESS to ensure that the functioning of the league is smooth with the best of facilities being provided to participants and viewers," offered the company chairman and MD S S Dasgupta.

PHL offers total prize money of Rs 7.1 million. The winner will win Rs 3 million while the runners up will collect Rs 1 million. The winner of Tier II will get Rs 400,000 while the runner up will receive Rs 250,000. Allocation of above prizes between players and the respective associations shall be specified by IHF.

The league will have two tiers having five teams each in the first year. Tier I will be called the 'Premier Division' and Tier II will be called the 'First Division'. The League will follow a round robin format with all teams playing each other twice. The winner will be decided on the basis of total points.

PHL will also feature players from foreign countries like Pakistan, South Korea, Spain and others. All leading Indian players will reserve themselves to play the PHL. PHL will also present itself as the first sporting platform ever where Pakistani and Indian players will play in the same team, adds the release.

Latest Reads
adidas India congratulates the 2018 Arjuna awardees

Young athletic sensation Hima Das is in headlines yet again and this time for being awarded with the highest sports honour in the country, the Arjuna Award.

Television TV Shows Awards
Sony Pictures Networks India is recognized asone of India’s Top 100 Best Companies for women

Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN), India’s leading entertainment and sports broadcast network, has been ranked for the 2nd consecutive year, asthe Top 100 Best Companies for Women to work in India.

Television TV Channels English Entertainment
Hindi news most benefited genre in Chrome DM week 38

With a growth of 0.83 per cent as compared to last week (37), the Hindi news genre marked the highest opportunity to see (OTS) among all categories in week 38 of Chrome Data Analytics & Media.

Television TV Channels Viewership
Swaroop Banerjee to head Zee Entertainment’s Live business

Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited (ZEEL), a leading media & entertainment powerhouse, today announced the appointment of Mr. Swaroop Banerjee as the Chief Operating Officer – Zee Live.

Television TV Channels GECs
Mirror NOW hosted a grand celebration in Gurugram to celebrate its journey

Launched in March 2017 with the brand philosophy of ‘You First’, the latest entrant in the English news sense, Mirror NOW, created a new genre of content with a defined purpose of focusing on issues that impact people’s lives.

Television TV Channels News Broadcasting
Toonz Media to Recreate the Iconic Indian Comic, Chacha Chaudhary

Forever unforgettable Indian comic book ‘Chacha Chaudhary’ created by the renowned Padma Shri cartoonist Pran Kumar Sharma to be recreated in to an animated series.

Television TV Channels Kids
Committed to Saving India’s Cinematic Heritage, Viacom18 partners with Film Heritage Foundation for the 4th Film Preservation & Restoration Workshop India 2018

Celebrating a century of Bengali cinema, Viacom18 and Film Heritage Foundation (FHF) announces the 4th Film Preservation & Restoration Workshop India 2018 (FPRWI) in Kolkata.

Television TV Channels GECs
Viacom18's Colors Kannada Cinema aims to break even within 3 years

Viacom18 is making moves in the regional space. Its latest bet was to launch a movie channel for the Kannada market called Colors Kannada Cinema. The conglomerate has a Hindi movie channel called Rishtey Cineplex which broke even in two years. Similarly, the idea is to get the Kannada movie channel...

Television TV Channels Regional
DSPORT to broadcast ‘Ryder Cup’ for viewers in India starting 28th Sep, 2018, 11:30 AM onwards

The 42nd edition of the biennial ‘Ryder Cup’ will bring the long lasting existing rivalry between golfers of Europe and USA for the Indian viewers. The prestigious tournament will be telecast live on DSPORT from 28th - 30th September, 2018 from 11:30 am onwards for the first two days while the...

Television TV Channels Sports

Latest News

Load More

Sign up for our Newsletter

subscribe for latest stories