Apsara FPGI Awards finale on 29 May

MUMBAI: The first Apsara Film Producers Guild Awards, FPGI, will announce its winners on Saturday, 29 May 2004.

Auditors Pricewaterhouse Coopers, who have audited the prestigious Oscars for the past 68 years, has taken off to a good start by receiving responses from both the film and TV industry alike.

The first round of short listing the entries is underway. The screenings of the entries will commence shortly and the nominations are slated to be announced on 6 May 2004 at a ceremony in Mumbai, confirms a press release.

The Film Producers Guild of India has set up a separate Apsara Awards Desk. The 50-year old guild with over 160 members, constituting the powerful and influencing luminaries in its sector ensures credibility and transparency of the awards.

Secretary general of the Guild Supran Sen says, "The seriousness and commitment of the Guild was expressed by the support given by the entire industry. It was a touching moment to see great film makers like Ramanand Sagar, B.R. Chopra, Subhash Ghai and even the younger generation like Karan and Rohan amongst them all."

The personalities constituting the selection committee for the Apsara FPGI Awards includes the director of the awards, Ramesh Sippy, the president of FPGI, Amit Khanna and the chairman of the jury across each of the 4 categories -- Shekhar Kapur for the film awards, Govind Nihalani, for the technical awards, Ronnie Screwvala for the television awards and Yash Chopra, who along with Amit Khanna, would head the special award category.

Film Producers Guild of India president Amit Khanna says, "It is indeed a distinguished honour for artists to be recognized by their own peers through awards that are credible, transparent, objective and completely unbiased, which has been the prime objective behind instituting the first Apsara Film Producers Guild Awards. We shall be leaving no stone unturned to ensure that through these awards we establish a standard that parallels the world's best."

Guild member Subhas Ghai says, "Indian entertainment is scaling new heights. It's time to honour talent and who better than industry stalwarts to do it. The Apsara will don an extremely prominent mantle in every winner's life as this is an award that truly recognises achievement."

On the other hand, TV Awards Committee chairman and Guild member Ronnie Screwvala says, "Film and television together is the all encompassing future of the Indian entertainment industry. This first step in that direction is going to pave the way for enriching and motivating more quality products for the Indian viewers."

A special rule booklet has been published by the Guild outlining the format and the eligibility criteria. All films and television programmes released between 1 April 2003 to 31 March 2004 are eligible for the awards, says the release.

The winners will be voted by the cast of a ballot by all the 160 members of the Guild and not by a viewers' choice poll. Members including Aamir Khan, Shyam Benegal, Amitabh Bachchan, Ashutosh Gowarikar and Kamal Barjatiya, will be participating in the voting process.

A total of 36 categories, including 23 from cinema and 13 from television, both fiction and non-fiction, will be honoured at the grand finale.

Latest Reads
BIG Magic acquires 'Boonie Bears' exclusive FTA rights

BIG Magic has acquired exclusive FTA rights of ‘Boonie Bears’, the No.1 and most popular animated series in China. BIG Magic has renamed it ‘Babloo Dabloo’ for the Hindi viewing audience. Babloo Dabloo airs every Monday – Sunday 10 am – 11 am & 5 pm – 6 pm only on BIG Magic

Television TV Channels GECs
PBL: Setting stage for next big thing on Indian sporting landscape

India has witnessed the emergence of a multi-sports culture over the past few years. This significant development has come on the back of a promising display by Indian sportspersons across various disciplines, the meteoric rise of home grown leagues and the consequent widening of the fan base of...

Television TV Channels Sports
CNNMoney new section will be about the fastest growing economy; MoneyStream app launched

MUMBAI: Attracting 1.8 million average monthly page views, witnessing a 37 per cent growth in video consumption and 16 per cent in unique browsers month-on-month from India in less than a year’s time is not smooth. In its ambitious plan of global expansion, CNN Digital is leaving no stone unturned...

Television TV Channels News Broadcasting
Content a 'Game of Thrones'; AT&T's control over HBO, Cartoon Network, Warner Bros faces regulatory lens

The global media landscape is resulting in a new juggernaut as an internet and cable behemoth yesterday purchased an entertainment conglomerate making the former unmatched in its size and reach to consumers through home broadband, smartphones, satellite television and a battery of movies and cable...

Television TV Channels English Entertainment
US$ 4.5 bn expected from IPL rights; SC recommends accounts scrutiny

The Supreme Court on Friday froze all financial transactions between the BCCI and state cricket associations by directing the apex body not to disburse any funds till it resolves to abide by the Justice RM Lodha panel recommendations on reforms by 3 December . The top court ordered that none of...

Television TV Channels Sports
TVS Tyres is co-presenter for Asian Champions Trophy 2016

Continuing its strong connect with sports, TVS Tyres has associated with Asian Champions Trophy 2016 by becoming the co-presenter. The Asian Champions Trophy is one of the premier hockey tournaments, a much sought after annual international competition promising some great hockey action. This...

Television TV Channels Sports
Q2-17: Zee Learn declares maiden interim dividend

The board of directors of the Essel group’s education company Zee Learn Limited (ZLL) have declared a first time ever dividend of 5 percent per equity share of Re 1 each for the quarter ended 30 September 2016 (Q2-17, current quarter).

Television TV Channels Factual & Documentary
Whether BARC action can stop unethical practices?

MUMBAI: Can businesses and industries practise their art of selling fairly although they have 'Fair Practices' training during academic courses, workshops and several ISO and other certifications? There seems to be the fear of the lawman, and not the law in India. If the traffic cop is watching,...

Television TV Channels Viewership
TV Superhighway: beIN, Yaddo, AfricaXP have joined us, says Magine CEO Ambuj Goyal

CANNES; Magine has secured partnerships with four of the industry’s most exciting sports, documentary and entertainment content providers. Partnerships with beIN, the international media group and owner of MIRAMAX; Yaddo, the new documentary streaming service headed up by former head of The BBC’s...

Television TV Channels Factual & Documentary

Latest News

Load More

Sign up for our Newsletter

subscribe for latest stories