Hero Honda-ITA Awards: Industry's second TV awards mark their presence

The Indian television business witnessed its second awards ceremony for this year yesterday - The Hero Honda-Indian Television Academy Awards. (Indiantelevision Dot Com Pvt Ltd, which runs and is in no way connected with the Indian Television Academy, actually organised the first set of television awards on 6 July 2001 this year - The Indian Telly Awards 2001.)

The Hero Honda-ITA awards ceremony held at the Renaissance Hotel & Convention Canter, Powai, Mumbai was attended by the leading lights of the television and film industry. (Estimates put the attendance figure at about 1,000-1,500). Among the film stars who attended the show were Madhuri Dixit, Raveena Tandon, Sanjay Dutt, David Dhawan and Subhash Ghai. Among the TV stars who attended were Siddharth Kak, Renuka Shahane, Tabssum, Saakshi Tanwar, Ram Kapoor and Gautami Gadgil.

Information & Broadcasting minister Sushma Swaraj, member of Parliament Shatrughan Sinha, Prasar Bharati CEO Anil Baijal were among the government representatives who turned up.

The awards were split up into 44 categories: 12 popular, 24 jury awards, and eight technical awards. The show started with the technical awards. The winners:

Sub-category Winner Serial/show/channel

Best make-up

Ashok Pangam

The Great Warrior Chhatrapati Shivaji

Best costumes

Pradeep Muley

The Great Warrior-Chhatrapati Shivaji

Best Audiography

Suhas Kulkarni/Ramesh Rathod

Maa Shakti

Best Art Direction

Nitin Desai

The Great Warrior Chhatrapati Shivaji

Best Editing


IT India Tomorrow

Best visual effects

Cinevista Communications

Sshhh..Kohi Hai-Vidhyut Electricity

Best cinematography

Sudeep Chatterjee


Best Live coverage sports

TransWorld International

Four Square Challenge & Rafter Cross

It was followed by the Jury Awards. The winners are as below:

Sub-category Winner Serial/show/channel/interstitials
Best children's programme

Rila O'Brien/R.P. Chatterjee

Bournvita Quiz Contest
Best cookery show Sanjeev & Alyona Kapoor Khana Khazana
Best interstitials/fillers Sahara India Global refugees
Best Title music/song track Khayyam/Naqsh Lyallpuri Milan
Best dialogues Ashwani Dhir Office Office
Best mini-series Deepak Tijori Thriller At 10-Fareb/X-Zone Milan
Best director -comedy Rajiv Mehra Office Office
Best director-drama Ajai Sinha Justujoo
Best show packaging NDTV Reality Bites in Pakistan
Best Teleplay Chaula Shah/Ashok Patole/Ishaan Trivedi Justujoo
Best Talk/Chat show Rachna Prasad We the People
Best Music & film based show Moving Pictures Ek Kalakar Ki Kahani
Best Game/Quiz Show Siddhartha Basu Kaun Banega Crorepati
Best Mythological/Historical serial Vinay Apte The Great Warrior -Chhatrapati Shivaji
Best Serial comedy Smita Chakravarty Ji Mantriji
Best serial -drama Sangita Sinha/Saurabh Agarwal Justujoo
Best Anchor-Sports Sonali Chander Sports Tonight
Best Anchor-News & Current Affairs Rajat Sharma Janta Ki Adalat
Best Anchor-(Music & Films) Shekhar Suman Movers & Shakers
Best anchor-game quiz Amitabh Bachchan Kaun Banega Crorepati
Best Actress -Comedy Archana Puran Singh Aasmaan Say Tapki
Best Actor-Comeday Farooque Sheikh Ji Mantriji
Best Actress-Drama Pallavi Joshi Justujoo
Best Actor -Drama Kanwaljeet Singh Saans

The Popular Awards were won by the following:

Sub-category Winner Serial/show/channel
Best Music Channel MTV MTV
Best sports presenter/commentator Harsha Bhogle
Best anchor-based show Siddhartha Basu Kaun Banega Crorepati
Best Star Cast Shobha & Ektaa Kapoor Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi
Best Sports channel Star Sports Star Sports
Best News Channel Aaj Tak Aaj Tak
Best Host/Hostess Amitabh Bachchan Kaun Banega Crorepati
Best Actress Smriti Malhotra Irani Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi
Best Actor Amar Upadhyay Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi
Best Entertainment Channel Star Plus Star Plus
Best Actor/actress in a comic role Pankaj Kapur Office Office
Best Serial Shobha & Ektaa Kapoor Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi

The other notable awards given away were the milestones awards which sought to honour serials of yesteryear.

Milestone Awards
Hum Log
1983 Cricket World Cup
Phool Khile Hai Gulshan Gulshan
Yeh Jo Hai Zindagi

The show, which began nearly two hours later than the scheduled 7:30 pm, began with a Russian ballet. Veteran actor Kabir Bedi was the first of the show's several anchors, who hosted the seven segments of the awards. Archana Puran Singh and Parmeet Sethi, Mandira Bedi, Niki Aneja and Rohit Roy, Ranjeet and Sandhya Mridul, Shekhar Suman, Aly Khan (who also hosted The Indian Telly 2001 Awards in July 2001) were the other sub-anchors roped in to host the other segments.

Take offs on the TRP ratings, Doordarshan's programming and spoofs on TV talk shows peppered the show, in between segments. Current hit Adnan Sami stole the show with his brilliant vocals and lightning fingers.

Latest Reads
Republic TV continues to dominate English news genre: BARC week 44

In the Hindi news (U+R) genre, Zee News climbed two slots to the third position in week 44 of BARC ratings. Aaj Tak yet again stood on top in all the three genres. Republic TV continues its dominating streak in the English news genre.

Television TV Channels Viewership
Essel Group engages Goldman Sachs to sell half its stake in Zee Entertainment

Mumbai: 13th November 2018, Subhash Chandra and family along with its advisors met in Mumbai over the Diwali weekend to undertake a strategic review of its businesses in view of the changing global media landscape. The strategic review underscored the importance of technological advancements such...

Television TV Channels GECs
Neville Bastawalla to take over as marketing head of SPN India sports cluster

Sony Pictures Network (SPN) has made some internal changes and handed the responsibility of heading marketing for the sports cluster to Neville Bastawalla, a source close to the development informed

Television TV Channels Sports
Big Ganga Sets up Safe Changing Rooms for Women During Chhath Puja

Riding on the success of multiple initiatives, ZEE Entertainment Enterprise Limited’s No. 1 Bhojpuri Channel, Big Ganga introduces a much-needed social initiative - ‘Ek Kadam Swabhiman Ki Aor’ on the occasion of one of the most popular festivals of the region, Chhath Puja.

Television TV Channels GECs
Most awaited awards of the year - Nickelodeon Kids Choice Awards 2018 is back, bigger than ever!

It’s time to blow the trumpets and roll out the orange carpet for Nickelodeon Kids Choice Awards 2018.

Television TV Channels Kids
Zee TV leads GEC urban in BARC week 44

Zee TV that was on the fourth position in the previous week climbed to the second position in the Hindi (U+R) genre in Broadcast Audience Research Council (BARC) data for week 44 of 2018.

Television TV Channels Viewership
Anushka Sharma joins hands with Discovery to promote Tiger Conservation Movement

Leading Bollywood actress Anushka Sharma has joined hands with to promote a global awareness movement to save tigers from extinction.

Television TV Channels Factual @ Discovery
Shemaroo Entertainment brings back the Golden Era of Nimmiji

Shemaroo Entertainment’s retro music channel Filmi Gaane launched a compilation of 35 songs of 1950’s veteran actress Nimmi by the name “SUPERHITS OF NIMMI - The Vintage Beauty”.

Television TV Channels Music and Youth
Star India publishes RIO as per TRAI tariff order

After Supreme Court of India gave the verdict in favour of Telecom Regulatory authority of India (TRAI) in the tariff order case.

Television TV Channels GECs

Latest News

Load More

Sign up for our Newsletter

subscribe for latest stories